East Hopewell Township

East Hopewell Township

Government - Local

About Us

East Hopewell Township is a municipality located in York County.

A petition signed on May 5, 1883, was presented to the court at York, presided over by Hon. John Gibson, asking for a division of Hopewell into two townships. The reasons given were that many of the electors were required to go a long distance to the voting places. It was claimed that great convenience would result from the division of the township. It was decided, however, that it was best to divide Hopewell into three townships. This is the beginning of the three townships known as Hopewell, East Hopewell, and North Hopewell. The division became official in June, 1885.